Tags

, , , , , , ,

is this movie overlong or is my watch just not working…?

R

Bryan Greenberg, Alan Rickman, Mary Steenburgen, Shawn Hatosy, Bill Pullman, Eliza Dushku, Danny DeVito

Sarah: I’m so sorry.  You see, the genius part of his brain is so big that it’s just swallowed up the civilized part of his brain, causing this monstrous antisocial behavior.

The son of an arrogant, Nobel Prize winning professor is kidnapped.

I guess that sentence above isn’t so much a plot summary as it is just the setup of the movie.  I’m  just afraid that if I tried getting any further into the plot, I’d be typing all day.  Plus, I’d probably give some so-called surprises away.

Though, I’m not sure anyone would really care since the movie is predictable, dull, and obnoxious.  It is WAY over edited and is buried under a lot of extremely loud music.  None of the characters are likable, the central caper is stupid, and characters behave nonsensically just for the sake of advancing the plot.  Also, a lot of little plot points are brought up but never actually get explained or followed through with.  That bugged me.

Yeah, it’s not very good.  It’s just a stylistic imitation of movies like The Italian Job and The Bank Job.  Maybe if it had been named The Nobel Son Job it would have worked better.  I was ready for it to be over the whole time I was watching it, and now I’m ready for this review to be over.  So…it is.

Beware hot crazy chicks who write bad poetry.

10 – 3.3 for being predictable, dull, and implausible – 2 for a bunch of annoying characters = 4.7