Tags

So, I saw this thing that’s going around movie blogs, and I thought I’d play along.

Basically, you pick your favorite movie from every year that you’ve been alive. For me, that’s 1976-2010. Not including 2011 because it’s just getting going.

Note: I’m going by the year these films are listed under on IMDB.com, not necessarily the year they got a wide release.

Here goes…

1976

The Contenders – Rocky, Squirm, Track of the Moonbeast
Decision – Obviously I haven’t seen many movies from 1976…so, I went with the one I DIDN’T see on Mystery Science Theater 3000

WINNER I never noticed how much he looks like Paul McCartney

1977

The Contenders – Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Star Wars
Decision – Spielberg beats out Lucas in this case, but it’s a close one.

WINNERGonna build a mountain, in your living room...

1978


The Contenders – Superman, Laserblast
Decision – Once again I have to go with the one I’ve seen that’s actually good enough to NOT be featured on MST3K.

WINNER Seriously, Laserblast?

1979

The Contenders – Alien, Apocalypse Now, Mad Max
Decision – Not a strong field this year, as far as personal favorites go, so I went with the one set in space…space always wins…

WINNER Crazy new-age beauty treatments...

1980

The Contenders – Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, Superman II
Decision – Seeing as how it’s one of my all time favorite movies…

WINNER Why does my back suddenly feel all warm...and wet...?

1981

The Contenders – Raiders of the Lost Ark, Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior
Decision – Again, we’re dealing with an all time favorite…

WINNER Pretty much how it feels to watch this movie.

1982

The Contenders – Poltergeist, Star Trek II, The Secret of NIMH
Decision – Close race, but one of these had Ricardo Montalban, while the others did not…

WINNER What does-...I don't know what that means, what does that mean?

1983

The Contenders – Star Wars: Return of the Jedi, Wargames, The Right Stuff
Decision – Ally Sheedy is awesome, but the Mercury 7 are even more awesome…

WINNER Who's the best pilot ya ever saw?

1984

The Contenders – Terminator, Karate Kid, Top Secret!, Ghostbusters
Decision – Now it’s getting tough, but classic comedy wins out over classic sci-fi/action.

WINNER So you guys didn't think the sequel was all that bad, right?

1985

The Contenders – Back to the Future, Real Genius
Decision – One of these falls apart a little too much at the end…

WINNER Hey thanks for not making out with your mom too much.

1986

The Contenders – Big Trouble In Little China, Platoon, Aliens, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
Decision – Stop your grinnin’ and drop your linen…

WINNER Wait, WHAT happens to my character in the third movie...?

1987

The Contenders – Roxanne, Broadcast News, Raising Arizona, The Princess Bride
Decision – Okay, we’re getting into some tough territory now.  I guess I have to go with the one I’ve seen the most and can quote from the most freely…but the others are very strong contenders…

WINNER As you wish indeed...

1988

The Contenders – Big, Die Hard, Beetlejuice
Decision – Well, Die Hard is just awesome all around…Beetlejuice is funny and has Winona…but…

WINNER Bow down before Zoltar!

1989

The Contenders – Say Anything, The Abyss, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, Glory
Decision – I really want to pick John Cusack and Ione Skye, but they just can’t quite compete with the dark nothingness of…

WINNER Watch this, I'm totally gonna pick it's nose!

1990

The Contenders – Joe Versus the Volcano, Edward Scissorhands, Men At Work, The Freshman
Decision – Really, this is a two horse race.  Joe or Edward, Edward or Joe…?

WINNER Joe..and his lamp

The 90s and beyond will appear soon in Part II!