Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

no, I am NOT in here because of my beard...

PG-13

Keir Gilchrist, Zach Galifianakis, Emma Roberts, Lauren Graham, Jim Gaffigan, Jeremy Davies, Viola Davis

Bobby: I don’t get wrapped up in a bunch of stuff I can’t have.
Johnny: Relax, it’s just for fun, bro.
Bobby: That’s not fun.  That’s propaganda, man.  All those Madison Avenue types telling you how to live your life.  Fast cars, hot chicks…Reese’s Pieces…Gucci…Werther’s Original.  I don’t buy into that bulls***!

When highschooler Craig (Gilchrist) finds himself seriously contemplating suicide, he checks himself into a hospital.  He’s admitted to the psych ward, but due to renovations, he must stay in the adult psych ward.

If Marc Webb (500 Days of Summer) and/or Wes Anderson directed Girl Interrupted…

This is a watered down, sugar coated sort of story about people dealing with some fairly serious mental issues.  I’m a little torn on this movie, because it was mostly entertaining, but it’s also distractingly unrealistic in its portrayal of many of the issues at hand.  At least I think it is.  I’m no expert in the area of mental health, but I’m guessing schizophrenia isn’t normally a comedy relief provider in the real world.

It’s predictable and simplistic, but at least Galifianakis, as Bobby, is there to partially save it.  He’s funny and likable, and honestly I think I’d rather have seen a movie about his story instead.  Keir Gilchrist does a good enough job too, but his character wasn’t as interesting as Bobby.

Speaking of uninteresting characters, Noelle (Roberts) is given hardly any development at all.  I kept waiting to hear more about her life, but that info never came.  But she’s really just there to help turn Craig’s life around anyway, so I guess that doesn’t matter so much.

It’s funny, I liked the attempts at a fun, stylistic approach to making the movie, and as I mentioned before, Galifianakis brings it up to another level.  Still, I can’t help but think that one could still make a funny movie while showing the darker side of some of the illness on display here.  It doesn’t have to get into Girl, Interrupted territory, but a little more edginess wouldn’t have hurt.

And I could have done without all of the vomiting…

Chicks dig guys with mental problems.

10 – 1.2 for predictability – 1.5 for being all sugar-coated and simplistic – .8 for some underdeveloped characters = 6.5