Tags

, , , , , , ,

guess we should've spliced in a wig too...

R

Sarah Polley, Adrien Brody, Delphine Chanéac

Elsa: She doesn’t eat meat!
Clive: I’m sorry, is rabbit considered a vegetable??

After the plug is pulled on Elsa (Polley) and Clive’s (Brody) experimental work, the two scientists carry on their experiments in secret.  They create a new life form from various DNA sources, including human, and must decide what is the right thing to do with it, morally and scientifically.

It’s been a few days since I watched it, and I’m still not quite sure how I feel about this movie.

I liked the odd twists and turns that the characters went through, their moral compasses spinning wildly as these odd events played out around them.  I also liked the way it wasn’t played up as a horror movie for most of its running time.  Unfortunately, it still had to fall back on some Jeepers Creepers type action at the end.  It felt like they didn’t know how to end it, so…let’s just turn it into a monster movie!

I’ve always been a Sarah Polley fan, and she does some interesting stuff with her character here.  She ropes you in, gets you rooting for her, then next thing you know, you’re back to feeling completely alienated by her actions.  Meanwhile, Brody takes the audience for almost the exact opposite ride.

This thing is pretty twisted, in a sort of Freudian kind of way, which would be okay if that made it more intriguing.  Instead it just made me feel a bit indifferent to it all.  In the last act of the movie, I stopped feeling much attachment to the characters and their plight, and whatever parenting issues/fears were being explored didn’t hold my attention either.  It just felt like everything interesting they built up in the first half of the movie unraveled in a sea of ickiness and monster movie clichés.

I applaud the effort of doing something different and weird, but I can’t say that I loved the final product.  I liked parts of it, but ultimately it was a bit of a let down.

Do not tamper in God’s domain…?

10 – 3 for losing me in the second half and having too typical of an ending – 1 because it wasn’t filmed in the most inspiring way…some of the shots seemed more suited for a TV show than a movie = 6.0