Tags

, , , , , , ,

don't worry, the zombies don't stand a chance...

R

Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Kate Ashfield, Lucy Davis, Dylan Moran

Shaun: As Mr. Sloan always says, there is no “I” in team, but there is an “I” in pie.  And there’s an “I” in meat pie. Anagram of meat is team… I don’t know what he’s talking about.

Two best friends, Shaun (Pegg) and Ed (Frost), gradually realize that there is a zombie outbreak going on.  They must travel across town to get Shaun’s mother and his ex-girlfriend, then find shelter somewhere.

Watched this one for the first time the other day.  I thought it was pretty funny, but it starts to lose steam in the second half.  I prefer Hot Fuzz from the same folks, though it suffers some of the same pacing problems.

I liked the way that all the signs of a zombie outbreak were all around them, but they were so wrapped up in their daily lives, they hardly noticed it.  Plus, the fast paced editing style helps keep the movie going at a nice pace.  That is, up until they get to the bar at the end and things slow down a bit.  It’s much better when they’re racing from place to place around town.  Once they’re at the bar, the scenery is dull and the movie just feels too closed in.

As is the case in Hot Fuzz, there are a few instances of extreme violence that stand out in contrast with the generally lighthearted nature of the film.  I guess that’s to be expected in a zombie movie though.  Still, be prepared to see at least one character get ripped apart and have their innards consumed before they’re even dead.

Funny movie, but it didn’t quite catch on with me the way I know it did for some people who love it.

You should practice looking and acting like a zombie.  That way you can blend in with the rest of them in case of an outbreak.

10 – 2 for getting slower and less funny near the end – .5 for the zombie jokes being a little repetitive throughout = 7.5