Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

no, things haven't really taken off for me since Lord of the Rings, thanks for asking...

R

Bradley Cooper, Emilie Ohana, Natalie Portman, Orlando Bloom, Christina Ricci, James Caan, Maggie Q, Ethan Hawke, and on and on and on…

Isabelle: That’s one of the things I love most about New York.  Everyone came from someplace else.

A look at various interactions occurring around the city of New York, many of which are filmed by a video artist.

Just not my kind of movie.

I prefer to get invested in characters and their stories.  Jumping around like this, barely even scratching the surface of what’s going on with these folks is basically like people-watching on a street corner.  That can be fun at times, but not so much here.  Every time a story got a little interesting, we left it for another one.

I suppose it’s an interesting experiment, having a different writer and director for each segment, but it’s not an experiment I would want to keep watching.  I see that this is a sort of sequel to Paris, Je t’aime.  I wonder if next we’ll get Madrid, Te Quiero!

I’m not going to try to get into descriptions about each storyline, or interaction, or whatever they would be called.  I’ll just say that I didn’t find myself caring about any of them.  There’s some nice shots of the city, I suppose, but that’s not enough to hold a movie together.

There are people…in New York…and they sometimes…interact with each other…randomly.

10 – 5 because I didn’t care about any of the stories/characters and it didn’t show me much of the city I haven’t seen in movies before = 5.0