Tags

, , , , , ,

hi, police? yeah, there's a creepy guy staring at me, what should I do?

R

Ciaran Hinds, Iben Hjejle, Aidan Quinn

Nicholas: Did you ever knock anybody out?
Mike: Nope.
Nicholas: I did.  Brutally satisfying I have to say.  I know, that’s a terrible thing to admit…but it’s true.

A widower, Mike (Hinds), with a young daughter is seemingly being haunted by the ghost of his dead wife’s father.  Problem is, he’s not quite dead yet.  Mike meets Lena (Hjejle), an author in town for a writer’s convention, and the two bond while discussing the possible meanings behind the strange things Mike has been experiencing.

It was hard for me to decide what to write for the plot of this one because there wasn’t so much a plot as just a series of minor events which occurred over the hour and a half running time of the movie.  There’s really no solid answers given as to what is going on with Mike and his ghostly experiences, and a majority of the film is spent on a sort of love triangle between Mike, Lena, and an arrogant author named Nicholas (Quinn).

I guess the overriding theme of the movie is being haunted.  Mike is haunted by the memories of his wife.  Lena has some ghosts in her past, but we’re left to guess at those for the most part.  And as for Nicholas, well he’s haunted by the one night he shared with Lena that he’s never forgotten.  She regrets it, but he’s been smitten with her ever since.

While I can’t say it has the most enjoyable story and characters, it is a great looking movie.  The cinematography is really eye-catching, with lots of rich colors and nice locations.  I also liked how a lot of the characters were often shown in silhouette, keeping with the eclipse theme.  The Eclipse is the name of the book that Lena wrote, loosely revolving around ghosts I believe, but I’m not totally sure how the eclipse theme fits in with the rest of the movie.

Mike and Lena are good together, but Nicholas is a little too unlikable and annoying.  Any time he was on screen, I was ready for him to be gone immediately.  I guess that’s credit to Quinn’s acting ability, but a character whose only function is to aggravate other characters and the viewer is just not much fun to watch.

If you like films that are lovely to look at and have a mysterious, confusing feel to them, you might enjoy this one.  If you prefer more concrete stories, you might want to pass.  I’m somewhere in the middle.  Definitely not haunted by it though…

When you enter a room, always make sure there’s not a puddle of blood on the floor before walking too far into the room.  Otherwise you could slip and fall.

10 – 1 for one particularly annoying character – 2 for being a little too mysterious and vague = 7.0