Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Little Miss Zombieland

R

Jesse Eisenberg, Woody Harrelson, Emma Stone, Abigail Breslin

Columbus: Another rule to surviving Zombieland:  travel light.  And I don’t mean just luggage.  I’ve always been kind of a loner.  I avoided other people like they were zombies even before they were zombies.  Now that they are all zombies…I kinda miss people.

Columbus (Eisenberg) is a loner in a world with very few non-zombies left.  He meets Tallahassee (Harrelson) and hitches a ride, hoping to return to his home town to see if his family is still alive.  They have to fight off zombies along the way.

Let me start off by saying I’m not a huge fan of Eisenberg or Harrelson, or zombies for that matter, but they all were tolerable enough to not ruin this particular movie.  In fact, it’s a pretty good movie.  Not great, but entertaining.

I liked that they didn’t spend the whole movie with zombie attack after zombie attack and instead focused more on the characters and how they survive in this harsh reality.  Both Columbus and Tallahassee (not their real names, obviously, just their respective destinations) are reluctant to form any sort of attachments to other people, though eventually they pick up two more survivors, Wichita (Stone) and Little Rock (Breslin).  It takes a while, though, for them to all get over their trust issues.

Back to the survival stuff – I’m sure we’ve all contemplated the what-if-I-was-the-last-person-on-earth scenario before, right?  …right?  Okay, maybe it’s just me, but I think it’s interesting.  One thing I’ve thought about his how much of a person’s destructive nature would come out, and we see some of that in one scene in this movie when they just totally trash a store they’re in for no other reason than it’s fun.  I’d probably take it a step further and see if I could figure out how to operate an army tank.  It’s also kind of fun to think about how you can just take anything you see.  Want a new car?  Just hop in any one you find.  Though, I’m not real sure why they didn’t choose a more fuel efficient vehicle (rather than the Hum-V they get), seeing as how gasoline might be hard to come by at times.

But enough about all that.  Back to the movie.  It’s directed stylishly and with a lighthearted feel that balances out the gruesomeness of the zombie attacks.  Plus, it’s funny on a fairly consistent basis.  Eisenberg’s narration is something I could have done without, but it’s not too detrimental.  Also, with only 4 characters present, there’s really no threat of anything bad happening to any of them.  There’s no real sense of danger, but since this is a comedy essentially, I can let that pass.

While this isn’t destined to become a favorite, I think it could stand up well to the occasional repeated viewing.  Plus, it could be good training for the inevitable day when zombies take over…

Buckle up in case of a zombie attack.

10 – 1 because Eisenberg and Harrelson still annoy me a bit – 1 for some rough patches where the comedy just doesn’t work – .8 for a weak ending + .3 for that big cameo everybody loves = 7.5