Tags

, , , , , ,

if we sit here long enough doing absolutely nothing, do you think the audience will just get up and leave...?

R

Nathan Zellner, David Zellner, Caroline O’Connor

Chad: I guess I should tell you up front that…I have a, uh…I have a coupon from the phone book.
Oliver: This is an ad, not a coupon…
Chad: …really?

As Chad (Nathan Zellner) is going through a divorce, his 13 year old cat runs away, giving Chad even more of a reason to have a mental breakdown.

Yeah, that’s pretty much the entirety of the plot.  We’re basically just watching a guy hit rock bottom for an hour and a half.  It’s not interesting, it’s not funny, and it’s not filmed particularly well.

I really didn’t like this movie at all, in case you couldn’t tell.

There’s a scene that must be at least 5 minutes long which consists of nothing but Chad and his wife signing divorce papers in silence.  I think it’s supposed to be funny, but instead it is agonizing.

I do love the independent film world, but just because it’s a little independent movie doesn’t mean it’s okay to have nothing happen for long stretches of time.  I didn’t care about any of the characters (except maybe the cat) or anything that happened to them.

It kind of made me think of the movie Wendy and Lucy in its simplicity (and because it involved somebody looking for an animal), but W&L worked for some reason.  Maybe Michelle Williams is just that much better an actress and that much more likable.  Whatever the reason, that’s a good movie and this one isn’t.

Private investigators probably won’t hunt down your missing cat for you.

10 – 5 for being so pointless and slow and boring and unfunny – 1 for some sub-par acting – 1 for not being at all visually appealing either = 3.0