Tags

, , , , , , ,

REALLY really...

PG-13

Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson, Christine Taylor, Will Ferrell, Jerry Stiller

Derek: Have you ever wondered if there was more to life, other than being really, really, ridiculously good looking?

Derek Zoolander is a really really good looking model who is brainwashed into killing the Prime Minister of Malaysia in order to stop him from putting child labor laws into place that would hurt the fashion industry…I think…

I must say, it’s entirely possible that having heard this movie quoted so many times hurt my appreciation for it upon finally seeing it.  This is the first time I’ve watched it all the way through, and I was not exactly impressed.  There are funny moments, like Derek not realizing that he’s only looking at a model of his center for “kids who can’t read good” and getting angry because there’s no way the kids will be able to fit inside.  But those moments are scattered about in a movie that’s basically one long joke:  male models are stupid.

I grew tired of that joke, and Stiller’s performance as Derek Zoolander, rather quickly.  I guess this one just isn’t my cup of tea, but I know a lot of people really like it.

Not that I hated it, but I’d rather just watch a 5-10 minute highlight tape of all the funny parts and not have to sit through the rest of the so-called plot.

I watched this on a Saturday, and by Tuesday when I was going to write my review, I had forgotten that I’d even watched it.  I had to rack my brain to recall what I had watched on Saturday.  That’s usually not a good sign for a movie.

Ben Stiller may not be the best director in the world…

10 – 3.5 for too much of the unfunny – 1 because the directing and editing left a little to be desired = 5.5