Tags

, , , , , , ,

it's funny 'cause I don't talk, but I'm answering the phone...ha...

G?

Groucho Marx, Harpo Marx, Chico Marx, Zeppo Marx, Margaret Dumont

Firefly: Gentlemen, Chicolini here may talk like an idiot, and look like an idiot…but don’t let that fool you, he really is an idiot.

Rufus T. Firefly (Groucho) is the newly appointed leader of Freedonia.  When the ambassador of the neighboring Sylvania shows interest in the same woman Firefly is interested in, there’s no other choice but to go to war.

I must admit that the Marx Brothers have always been a bit hit and miss with me.  I really like the witty exchanges between Groucho, Chico, and whatever poor dimwit they might be toying with at the time.  Unfortunately, Harpo will then get a 5 minute scene of his own that usually does not appeal to me at all.  Harpo is the one that doesn’t talk, and instead relies on visual jokes.  He’s always such a nuisance that I find myself wishing the other characters would just knock him out so we can go back to the much funnier stuff with Groucho.

That’s the case in this movie.  Groucho and his one-liners are funny, but the too numerous scenes with Harpo tormenting a lemonade vendor just go on and on.  It’s a very short movie, but those scenes made it drag on and on.

I know this movie is held in high regard, and people enjoy its satirical view on war, etc, but even though it’s very funny at times, I can’t overlook the stuff that I just don’t care for.  Are there any Marx Brothers movies without Harpo?

Harpo is a jerk.

10 – 2.5 for too many segments that I just didn’t find funny – .6 for the whole political satire thing that just doesn’t appeal to me much = 6.9