Tags

, , , , , , ,

honey, I know this is a weird thing to say, but...I really hope you're not murdered any time soon...

This movie is in French, with English subtitles.

R

François Cluzet, Marie-Josée Croze, Kristin Scott Thomas, André Dussollier

Alex: Okay…I think I’ve seen enough to contradict your family doctor.  We’ll take her off cortisone.  It won’t cure her eczema.  What will help her is if you let your child enjoy her life.  You know what I would suggest when she doesn’t have school?  Cartoons in bed, fries for lunch, friends to visit all afternoon, Barbie, chocolate, the whole shebang!  And lots of TV, of course.

Eight years after his wife, Margot (Croze) is murdered, Alex (Cluzet) receives emails that seem to indicate that his wife might actually still be alive somehow.  Meanwhile, a pair of bodies found buried in the same area of his wife’s murder makes the police think they were too quick in dismissing Alex as a suspect 8 years ago.

This is a well-made, well-acted, and often moving French suspense thriller.  That being said, I felt the story was a little confusing at times and actually a little bit underwhelming.  Especially once everything was revealed.  It just didn’t have much of a wow-factor.  Not that it was bad, by any means.  It’s a quality movie, just not one that gripped me from start to finish.

I’m sure the fact that I had to read subtitles throughout took away from some of the emotional impact of it, but I think the complex story took away some of that impact as well.  There are a lot of characters and names to keep track of and at 2+ hours, I got a little weary of trying to sort out who’s who.  In fact, I wonder if the filmmakers had the same feeling because we do get an ending where one character sits down with another character and explains everything, with helpful flashbacks included.

Of course, there’s a lot of good stuff here, too.  The performances, the camera work, and the subtle music create an atmosphere that’s some combination of frustrating, melancholy, beautiful, and scary.  I can tell it’s on the verge of being something that I’d really like, but I just didn’t quite feel a real connection with it.

It’s good to make friends with people who have guns.

10 – 1.5 for the complexities being dragged out a bit too long – 1 for the emotional impact not being as strong as it seems it should be = 7.5