Tags

, , ,

I like your new invisible mustache...

I like your new invisible mustache...

This movie is in French, with English subtitles.

PG-13?

Vincent Lindon, Emmanuelle Devos

Agnes: We did everything right today.  We bought you a jacket.  You hate it, I don’t.  You’ll never wear it.  That’s what couples do.

Marc (Lindon) decides to shave off the mustache he’s sported for about the last 15 years.  Not only does his wife Agnes (Devos) not notice it missing, she even denies he ever had a mustache once he’s pointed out the fact that he shaved it.  After his friends say the same thing, Marc starts to question his own sanity.

I like odd movies that create a sense of mystery out of something simple, but I also like for those movies to have at least some semblance of resolution.  La Moustache has a good set up, interesting performances, and a real sense of confusion and mystery.  What it doesn’t have is a satisfactory conclusion.  I don’t need everything spelled out for me in big letters, but it would be nice to have a starting point from which to form an opinion on what I just watched.

I wanted to hypothesize that everybody was just playing a hoax on Marc, but certain facts and events don’t seem to support that.  Then I wanted to assume that he was just going crazy without realizing it, but that didn’t seem to be supported either.  All we’re left with is the possibility that he has entered the Twilight Zone.

The build-up of the mystery is fun, as we try to piece together clues and form guesses at what is happening, but then in the end it doesn’t seem to matter what we’ve guessed.  We just have to go right on guessing after the credits roll.

Even though the movie doesn’t seem to support the possibility that Marc is simply going crazy, it’s interesting to view it from that angle.  As John Locke said on the show Lost, “Crazy people don’t know they’re going crazy.  They think they’re getting saner.”  Marc is the only one aware of the reality that obviously seems like the true one.  Of course he’s always had a mustache!  He even has pictures to prove it.  Or does he?  I’ll give the movie credit in that regard.  It made me put myself in the position of someone who suddenly finds his perception of reality being called into question.  Could I just accept something as fact that I *knew* in my heart wasn’t true, just because everybody else told me it was?

There’s probably some other symbolism and analogies about relationships going on here, but I guess they’re lost on me for the most part.  In fact, I’d welcome any thoughts or explanations if you’d care to offer them up in the comments section.

Mustaches seem like too much work to maintain.

10 – 2.2 for the overly ambiguous final 1/4th of the movie – 1.3 for a few other slow parts – .4 for some unlikely character behavior = 6.1