Tags

, , , , , ,

don't eat ME!  take the boy!

don't eat ME! here, take the boy!

R

Thomas Jane, Marcia Gay Harden, Andre Braugher

Bud: It appears we may have a problem of some magnitude here…

After a big storm, a strange mist descends on a small town, bringing strange creatures along with it.  A group of people is trapped in a supermarket, and as things get worse and worse, they become as big a danger to each other as the creatures outside are.

Going into this movie, I had heard about its…shall we say, ‘interesting’ ending via the internet.  So some of its impact was lost on me, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy the movie.  It’s actually a fairly effective thriller, with a lot of tense moments and a good lead performance from Thomas Jane as David.

David is in town with his young son and the neighbor that David has often had quarrels with.  They end up stuck in the store along with a large group of people, one of which is Mrs. Carmody, played by Marcia Gay Harden.  She’s the usual way-over-the-top religious doomsayer that I assume is meant to symbolize religious – in this case Christian – hypocrisy.  She seems to preach about fearing God out of her own selfishness rather than love, and while I know people like this do exist, I’m kind of tired of seeing it in movies.

Aside from her antics, most of the performances are pretty solid, even if most of the characters are one dimensional.  They’re here to push the plot along, and they do that well.  The movie rarely drags (thank you, director Frank Darabont), and despite its limited locations, I didn’t tire of the scenery and sets.

I did have a little bit of a problem with the creatures in the mist.  They were fairly standard.  They reminded me of some of the odd things that emerged from the ground in the 2001 movie Evolution.  The explanation of their origin didn’t make much sense either – and wasn’t really necessary in my opinion.

Still, the movie delivers the goods when it comes to creepy creatures killing off characters in creative ways (say that five times fast!).  I just wish the movie would have taken the opportunity to make me care more about – or at least believe – the characters than I did.  But that ending almost makes up for it…

Patience.

10 – 1.3 for dull creatures – .8 for the Mrs. Carmody character and performance – .7 for generally thin characters + .1 for the ending = 7.3