Tags

, , , , , ,

ok, about the beard...

ok, about the beard...

R

Zach Galifianakis, Judy Greer

George: That was Charisma on level 4.  Mike won’t be joining us today.
Todd: How come?
George: Apparently, according to Charisma on level 4, last night he exploded.  He was found in his garage.
Cindy: He didn’t seem like the type who would explode.

George (Galifianakis) works at a dull job (think Hudsucker Industries meets…well, the place Tom Hanks works in Joe vs. the Volcano), and he can’t seem to work up any enthusiasm for anything in life.  Except, that is, for a woman named Charisma who works on the 4th floor.  George only knows her voice, but has never seen her.  Meanwhile, there’s an epidemic across the nation.  An epidemic of people literally exploding when their emotional impulses have to fight too hard to get out from behind their dull lives.  George starts to think he is experiencing the symptoms of somebody who might soon explode, and he needs to change his life before that happens.

I hope I adequately described the plot because frankly I’ve already forgotten a lot about this movie.  In fact, I’ve been trying to remember how it ended, and I honestly don’t recall what the final scenes in the movie were.  I guess that’s the sign of a largely forgettable movie.

I enjoyed Zach Galifianakis’ understated performance, but the movie as a whole was filled with so many non-events, it all just blends together into a blur of light comedy.  The moments I do remember were the more touching ones between George and Charisma who he does finally meet.  They’re good together, though since George is married to Judy Greer’s character, Michelle, it makes the George/Charisma scenes a little less sweet.

It certainly can be a funny movie at times – I especially enjoyed when the company gave all the employees big, stuffed talking bears, hoping it would sooth their nerves and avoid explosions.  The problem is, it gets repetitive.  There’s similar scenes played over and over and a lot of repeated jokes.

All in all, it’s a pleasant enough film, I just wish there had been a little more to it.  Once I got the point it’s making about surpressed feelings and breaking out of the ruts society forces us into, I noticed I was mostly just waiting for it to be over.

A talking, stuffed bear will NOT always keep you from exploding.

10 – 2 for repetitive scenes and jokes – 2 for being so forgettable +.2 for some good performances = 6.2