Tags

, , , , ,

everybody freeze...everybody down on the ground...

everybody freeze...everybody down on the ground...

Supposedly R, but I would give it a PG-13

Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway

Eugene: I’m gonna tear them apart!  Those punks!  Stealing a man’s car!  Wait’ll I get my hands on those kids, Velma!  I’m gonna tear them apart!!
Velma: …What if they have guns, Eugene?
Eugene: …Listen, we better get the police and let them handle this…

Bonnie (Dunaway) meets Clyde (Beatty), they have an instant connection, they start robbing banks together, pick up a few more members of their gang along the way, and get pursued by a large number of law enforcement personnel.

In case you, the reader, don’t know, this movie is based on a true story.  It’s a romanticized version of it though.  I found their all out glee to be a bit hard to believe at times, especially when being chased through a field by multiple police cars firing many many bullets at them.  I suppose, though, that this fun-loving, good-time feeling was created on purpose so that when things start to go downhill later, the contrast is stark and sudden.

This is yet another classic film that didn’t impress me as much as I thought it would.  It may have a lot of realism as far as the violence is concerned, but I thought it was lacking in realism as far as the characters go.  Bonnie goes from being a bored, country waitress to deftly handling a machine gun in a matter of weeks.  A brief bit of reading on the subject seems to indicate that the real Bonnie Parker may have never even fired a gun in their crime spree.  Turning her into an action hero seemed a bit silly.  Also, I didn’t think there was enough worry and fear exhibited by the characters.  Obviously I wasn’t there, so I don’t know how these people really acted, but it all seemed like too much of a Sunday stroll in the park, when it should have been much more harrowing and scary from the beginning.

It does have some good moments, it’s easy enough to watch, and the end is appropriately harsh.  I just wish I’d felt more like I was really watching what it would have been like to be part of the Barrow Gang, rather than just watching actors glorify their exploits.

10 – 1 for what I thought was some strange/poor editing throughout – 2 for not buying the characters’ actions – .5 for romanticizing it all too much + .3 for the Gene Wilder scene = 6.8