Tags

, , , , ,

carrot?

carrot?

PG?

Clark Gable, Claudette Colbert

Shapeley: What’s a matter sister? You ain’t sayin’ much.
Ellie: It seems to me you’re doing excellently without any assistance.

An heiress, Ellie Andrews (Colbert), marries a famous aviator, but her father takes her away and wants to get the marriage annulled.  Ellie successfully runs away, but she has to travel some distance to get back to her husband.  Along the way, she meets Peter Warne (Gable), a newspaper man looking for a good story.  They end up traveling together, and of course, a sort of love-hate relationship starts to form.

This is a classic that I really didn’t know much about, other than the famous scene where Gable is having trouble hitchhiking and Colbert gets a car to stop by hiking up her skirt a bit.  I’m glad I chose to watch it because it’s actually very funny.  The two leads are good together, and there’s a lot of clever writing.

Just goes to show that the key to comedy is good writing.  Seems like an obvious concept, but I’m not sure it’s obvious to many in Hollywood these days.

I guess my only complaint might be that at times it can be a little mean and condescending towards women, but that’s certainly par for the course for movies of that time.  Not that Colbert doesn’t hold her own with Gable, but he’s always the one rescuing her from situations (I know, she’s supposed to be a helpless heiress), and calling her “brat” all the time seemed a little harsh.

Still, that’s a minor complaint in an otherwise very funny and likable movie that only drags a couple of brief times.

10 – 1.3 for a few parts that lag – .3 for the harshness I mentioned = 8.4