Tags

, , ,

seriously, it's gonna be weird...

seriously, it's gonna be weird...

Somewhere in the PG-13 to R range

Jack Nance

Mr. X: Well Henry, what do you know?
Henry Spencer: Oh, I don’t know much of anything.

Umm…
Well, there’s a guy, Henry, and a girl, Mary, and they have what could loosely be referred to as a baby, or what could more accurately be referred to as “that thing that will haunt my nightmares for years to come.”  Looking after this new “baby” proves to be a bit much for both of them.

I’d heard about this movie for a long time, but never had taken the opportunity to watch it.  Now I’m a little sorry I did.

I guess I’m just not a fan of surrealism because I did NOT get this movie.  I’m sure there are deep themes about the anxiety of being a parent (especially of a child with a mental or physical defect), or maybe just responsibility in general, but it’s hard to focus on anything other than that weird thing they’ve brought home from the hospital.  And that’s just the beginning of the strange imagery.  Bleeding trees, a severed head, a dancing girl with big prosthetic cheeks, and weird worm creatures…they’re all there.

If you’re into arty, surrealist filmmaking, I’m sure you’ll get more out of this movie than I did, but for anyone else who is not into that sort of thing, skip it.

I wouldn’t know where to begin…