Tags

, , , , , ,

We'll always have...hats.

We'll always have...hats.

PG?

Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, Paul Henreid

Yvonne: Where were you last night?
Rick: That’s so long ago, I don’t remember.
Yvonne: Will I see you tonight?
Rick: I never make plans that far ahead.

During World War II, Europeans are fleeing from the invading Germans and many of them end up in Casablanca, hoping to get exit visas that will allow them to travel to America.  Rick Blaine (Bogart) runs a club there.  He obtains two transit letters that could get two people safe passage to the U.S.  When his old flame, Ilsa (Bergman) shows up with her husband, Victor Laszlo (Henreid), Rick has to decide whether he wants to help them or help himself.

I probably don’t have to say much about this movie, seeing as it’s considered as one of the – if not THE – greatest movies of all time.  I can see how it could gain that title, as it is well written, witty, and romantic.  Though, I thought it could have benefitted from a little more pretty scenery.  The majority of the film is in Rick’s cafe, which makes the film seem a little small and closed in.  That’s a minor complaint though.

I was pleased that it very rarely lapsed into good ol’ Hollywood over-acting, though when it did, it was usually Bergman.  For the most part, it had a more real feel to the dialogue than I was expecting.

The whole story with the transit papers and who would get to use them was a little bit on the dull side, but that’s really just there to propel the romance, as well as the bigger story about whether Rick will choose to be self-serving or noble.

Overall, while I wouldn’t place this movie at the top of my all time favorite’s list, it’s certainly very good, and I understand why so many people love it.

10 – .6 for those dramatic overacting moments – 1.3 for the plot being a little too dull to want to follow – .2 for those cheesy special effects (I know, it was 1942, but still) = 7.9