Tags

, , , , , ,

Well aren't you a cute little special effect!

Well aren't you a cute little special effect!

PG

Amy Adams, Patrick Dempsey

Morgan: Remember when you go out not to put on too much makeup, otherwise the boys will get the wrong idea, and you know how they are…they’re only after one thing.
Giselle: What’s that?
Morgan: I don’t know. Nobody will tell me.

Giselle (Adams) is banished from her animated world by the evil queen Narissa (Susan Sarandon).   She is stuck in the “real” world, specifically New York, where she meets Robert and his daughter, Morgan.  Meanwhile, Prince Edward (James Marsden) has also entered the real world in order to save Giselle.

Well, before Mr. Grumpy Bear comes along to over analyze and over criticize this movie, I’ll point out the positives.

Amy Adams.  Her performance could make or break this movie, and fortunately she went all out with it.  It can’t be easy to be that uppity and innocent all the time, but she never wavers.

Another positive would be nice musical numbers, if you’re into that sort of thing, which I’m not so much.  But it didn’t bother me, so that must mean that it was pretty good.

And I’ll mention that it had a nice, overall happy feel to it that made the movie easy to watch.

Now to the other stuff.  I didn’t like the way that the “real” world was really just an extension of her animated fantasy world.  I would have preferred if she couldn’t summon animals to do her bidding at all.  I get that the joke was that now she has to deal with rats, roaches, and pigeons as helpers – rather than deer, rabbits and squirrels – but I was hoping to see some attempts to talk to animals go dangerously awry.  I also thought it would be more amusing, and more interesting, if her attempts at starting a sing-along, dance-along in the street would fail as well.  Maybe just a few brave souls would join in, thus making a commentary on how few people are willing to act without caring what others think.

Then there’s the evil queen.  Her powers extend into the real world too.  I would have preferred to see her forced to take a cab to get to her desired destination.

My other complaint is a general one about most romance movies.  Why must one, or both, of the leads so often be already in relationships?  It seems especially odd in a Disney movie seemingly directed – at least partially – at kids.  Hope daddy doesn’t meet a beautiful princess one day that he’ll dump mommy for!  I know Robert (who’s a divorce lawyer, happy!) isn’t married, but he and Nancy are going to be, and she’s just annoying enough that we’re ok with him leaving her for Giselle.  Speaking of Giselle, how come the moment she realizes she’s in love with Robert is when he finally makes her angry enough to lash out at him?  Is that how you know you’re in love, when you’ve reached a point that the other person can drive you crazy?

Told you I’d go too deep into this.  I guess I just found myself thinking that a few changes here and there could have made it much more enjoyable and interesting.

10 – 3 for the stuff I discussed above + .3 for Amy Adams’ performance – .4 for some less than stellar special effects = 6.9