Tags

, , , , , ,

 

I say, I'm having a bit of trouble being my charming self when I'm soaking wet...

I say, I'm having a bit of trouble being my charming self when I'm soaking wet...

 

R

Hugh Grant, Andie McDowell, Kristin Scott Thomas

Tom: Well, I don’t know, Charlie.  The truth is, unlike you, I never expected “the thunderbolt”.  I always just hoped that I’d meet some nice friendly girl, like the look of her…hope the look of me didn’t make her physically sick…then pop the question, settle down…be happy.  It worked for my parents…well, apart from the divorce and all that.

Charles (Grant) meets Carrie (McDowell) at a wedding, falls in love pretty instantly, but then doesn’t see her again until another wedding, then another wedding, then a funeral, then yet another wedding.  Thus, the title.

This is another one of those famous movies that I’d just never seen for some reason.  It features Hugh Grant giving, what is now, a standard Hugh Grant performance.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that.  He’s usually funny and entertaining in these kinds of movies.  As for McDowell, though, I thought her character, Carrie, was underwritten and not as charming as she should’ve been.  I didn’t really get much of a sense as to why Charles was so taken with her.

There’s a lot of good subtle comedy moments, which I like.  They don’t rely on a bunch of physical gags and over-the-top antics.  That’s always a sign of good writing.  Though, it feels a little overlong at times.  There’s some wedding stuff that maybe could have been trimmed.

I guess a movie like this needs to be judged in a couple of main areas, comedy and romance.  I give it high marks for comedy, but like I mentioned before, the romance was a little lacking and felt forced.  I would have liked to see more about Kristin Scott Thomas’ character, and the revelation she makes to Charles.  That whole angle sort of just gets brushed aside.

Overall, funny movie with some good performances by most of the actors.  Just wish Carrie was more interesting and likeable, then I would have cared more about her and Charles ending up together.

10 – 2 for Carrie lacking likeability – .7 for being a little overlong + .3 for some effectively touching commentary about relationships and marriage = 7.6