Tags

, , , , ,

Yes, it is worth watching just for me.

Yes, it is worth watching just for me.

PG-13

Jim Carrey, Zooey Deschanel

Norman: You called me Norm!
Carl Allen: Ya.
Norman: Could that, like, be my nickname?
Carl Allen: Ya, I guess.
Norman: Ah nice, I like your style, Car. That could be yours.
Carl Allen: Ya…Carl’s pretty short already, but…

Carl (Carrey) is a guy who’s kind of a miserable anti-social jerk. A friend gets him to go to a life empowerment class that teaches him to say “yes” to everything. No matter what the question, proposal, suggestion, he has to say yes. This leads to good and, of course, bad outcomes. Allison (Zooey!) is the standard eccentric, lovable, pixie that magically falls in love with our hero once he heads down this new path.

This is a very standard story that fulfills every requirement of a typical romantic comedy.  Down on his luck guy, recovering from heartbreak, friends that try to get him to be more social, some situation forces him to change his ways, things get better, he meets the perfect girl, he’s sailing along, there’s a speed bump which causes big problems, then he learns an important lesson just in time to win back the girl and be happy.

Carrey’s done a few of these now, including Bruce Almighty and Liar Liar.  Though this movie reminded me more of one I watched last week, Ghost Town, starring Ricky Gervais.  Despite having very different stories, I think an overall plot development outline of both movies would look virtually identical.

But back to Yes Man!  Zooey is cute.  There’s no getting around that, and that certainly added to my enjoyment of the movie.  Jim Carrey has grown on me over the years, especially when he’s being a more realistic character (see Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind).  At times he’s good in this, but he resorts back to his rubber face, kramer-esque stuff too much.  I can just imagine the script writer, not being able to come up with good dialogue for a scene, adding a note that says, “and then Jim does some of his wacky stuff!”

Overall, it’s a funny – if cluttered – film that I doubt will leave anybody loving it or hating it to a strong degree.  It’s just kind of there while you watch it…and then gone when it ends.

10 – 2 for Carrey’s lame antics – 2 for very standard plot + 1 for Zooey – .5 for having her character a bit underdeveloped – .2 for leaving some loose ends untied = 6.3