Tags

, , , , , , ,

Mrs. Robinson, if you don't mind my saying so, this conversation is getting a little strange.

Mrs. Robinson, if you don't mind my saying so, this conversation is getting a little strange.

Probably would be PG-13 if released today

Dustin Hoffman, Anne Bancroft, Katharine Ross

Mrs. Robinson: Do you find me undesirable?
Benjamin: Oh no, Mrs. Robinson. I think…I think you’re the most attractive of all my parents’ friends. I mean that.

Benjamin Braddock has just graduated from college and returned home with no idea what his future holds.  He soon finds himself being seduced by the wife (Mrs. Robinson) of his father’s business partner.  Things become more complicated when the Robinson’s daughter, Elaine, returns home from college and Benjamin falls in love with her.

Obviously I’d heard a lot about this movie, though I’d never seen the whole thing.  It’s considered a classic, and I suppose I can see why, but it’s not going to become one of my favorites.  It was good, but not great in my opinion.

I think my main issue was with the characters.  I kept looking for at least one character I could have sympathy for, or really understand, but none emerged.  Benjamin is pretty awkward, pushy, and obnoxious most of the movie.  Mrs. Robinson is desperate and controlling, and Elaine is just sort of strange and annoying.  I never believed either of the women would be that interested in Benjamin, especially Elaine.  It seems like they just fall in love for the convenience of advancing the plot.

On the positive side, it does have several very funny moments and good performances, plus a heapin’ helpin’ of Simon and Garfunkel music for the soundtrack.  Though, I really wish they hadn’t chosen to play Scarborough Fair FOUR TIMES in a row in the space of about 10 minutes.  Talk about overkill…

All in all, it’s a funny movie with some interesting themes about the feeling of uncertainty that comes with young people pondering their futures, and seeing possible futures displayed in their parents’ lives.  Futures that they probably want to avoid…

10 – 3 annoying characters + .5 for Simon and Garfunkel music – .2 for being too repetitious with said S&G music = 7.3