Tags

, , ,

Can he swing...from a web?  No he can't...he's a pig.

Can he swing...from a web? No he can't...he's a pig.

PG-13

A bunch of people doing many voices

EPA Official: Sir, I’m afraid you’ve gone mad with power…
Russ Cargill: Of course I have. You ever tried going mad without power? It’s boring. No one listens to you!

Because Homer doesn’t listen to warnings about Springfield becoming overpolluted, a huge glass dome is placed over the town so no one can leave or do harm to the rest of the world.  The Simpsons family manages to escape an angry mob – and the dome – and move to Alaska.  When they discover that the next step the EPA is going to take involves destroying the entire town, Homer has decide if Springfield is worth the trouble of going back to save the day.

As much of a Simpsons fan as I have been since it first aired, it’s surprising even to me that I had yet to watch this movie.   Having become disappointed in resent seasons of the show, I worried I’d be equally unimpressed with the movie, but as it turns out, it was actually pretty darned good.

Sure it has moments that fail, but those are outnumbered by the moments that work.  And yes, there are characters that I would have liked to see more of (like Mr. Burns), but there’s only so much time to fit everybody in.  I liked the fact that they made a role for Albert Brooks too.  He’s always been good when doing voices on the show before.

The plot is a little thin, and nobody ever even suggests digging their way out under the dome, but all that can be forgiven because it’s, ya know…a cartoon.

Oh, and…spider-pig…spider-pig…does whatever a spider-pig does…

10 – 2 for dull plot – 1 for some lulls where nothing funny happens – .2 for naked Bart Simpson + .8 for Albert Brooks = 7.6