Tags

, , , , ,

Frozen River

no ma'am, you can't have my hat.

R

Melissa Leo, Misty Upham, Charlie McDermott

A mother of two (“Ray Eddy”, played by Melissa Leo), who lives in a small trailer on the U.S./Canadian border, stumbles into the world of transporting illegal immigrants.  She’s not happy with the whole situation, but she sees it as a way to get money to provide a better home to her two kids.  The situation, of course, begins to go a bit out of her control.

I had never heard of this movie, but I looked it up on rottentomatoes.com and it had an 87% positive rating, so I thought I’d check it out.  While I didn’t love it or anything, I can appreciate that it was a well made little independent film that does a good job of creating a very real feel to the characters and their actions, for the most part.

It’s a pretty grim movie at times, taking place in a very desolate, harsh location which reminded me a little of the movie Fargo.  Though, this movie pulls back a little in places that Fargo went ahead and made even more grim.  I don’t know what this says about me, but I think I would have enjoyed this movie more if things had spiraled even more out of control for Ray.  Not that I revel in other people’s suffering, I just think she makes some poor decisions and the movie lets her off the hook at times.

Still, It’s a watchable movie, and I did find myself at least somewhat interested in the fates of the characters, which is usually a good sign.

10 – 3 for general lack of engrossment – .5 for a not so good child actor  + 1 for an unexpected moment or two – .7 for not taking some situations further = 6.8